Crash and Burn: Dark Phoenix Review - Movie Podcast

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 15, 2019
  • Hurry to upstart.com/filmhaus to find out HOW LOW your Upstart rate is.
    Sign up at filmhaus.robinhood.com for your FREE stock.
    This week that gang reviews Dark Phoenix, the final film in the muddled, divisive X-Men cinematic universe. Guess what? It wasn't good. Plus, our favorite movies of the franchise and predictions for the X-Men's inevitable addition to the MCU!
    Follow us on Twitter:
    twitter.com/adamkovic
    twitter.com/jameswillems
    twitter.com/elysewillems
    twitter.com/filmDstryr
    Tshirts n stuff: store.roosterteeth.com/collections/funhaus
  • GamingGaming

Comments • 370

  • パンク / punk
    パンク / punk 6 days ago

    the new xmen and fantastic 4 need to be slowly introduced into the universe with cameo roles like they did with spiderman in civil war.

  • Death watch
    Death watch 6 days ago

    I miss Rebecca Romijn Mystique in the first two. She was perfect.

  • Feedsomefood
    Feedsomefood Month ago

    14:09 ?? 36:39

  • JesuslsASamurai
    JesuslsASamurai Month ago

    Silly bitch your weapons cannot harm me

  • _-Oh Yeah Yeah-_
    _-Oh Yeah Yeah-_ Month ago

    storm can control other weather then just lightning. like for real with her so underutilized they should have casted static shock

  • _-Oh Yeah Yeah-_
    _-Oh Yeah Yeah-_ Month ago +1

    Jennifer Lawrence slept her way to the X-Men role. Probably smashed singer and ratner

  • ChrisPChikin
    ChrisPChikin Month ago

    I would rather have spent my money (that I used on the movie) to pay FH to watch this podcast, easily more entertaining. My expectations were very low and the trailer gave everything away and I was still disappointed. I was honestly angry I paid to watch Dark Phoenix and wished I had fallen asleep like I did in Apocalypse, at least I would have gotten something out of it. It is not the fault of Sophie Turner, James McAvoy or Michael Fassbender but pretty much everything else was a waste. Please look at Mystique's red wig, shit is dollar store. How the hell did this cost $200M (all the cast)? I'm such a sucker for "series" that I have nostalgia for. At least Logan and Toy Story 4 were great. Btw there's a whole sub-plot about the aliens that goes nowhere and I don't believe the aliens ever got a name or anything, just we follow Phoenix power, idk, shit happens I guess. Keep up the great work FH.

  • Mind Job
    Mind Job Month ago

    The movie did have a theme. It was spelled out in the opening and closing narrations(like in almost ever X-Men). They basically said that Jean won’t have the same fact she had in X3.

  • Greg jackson
    Greg jackson Month ago

    Red Lotus is an obscure character in the xverse

  • Lucas J
    Lucas J Month ago

    When they said Go see Booksmart, I actually out loud said YES! I know this was like week ago, but if you're reading this, absolutely go see Booksmart and not this mess.

  • Ty
    Ty Month ago

    Everyone keeps forgetting about New Mutants.

    • Ose Eigbobo
      Ose Eigbobo Month ago

      I mean, even the studio seems to have forgot about it.

  • Ty
    Ty Month ago

    Also, New Mutants is still supposed to come out.

  • Ty
    Ty Month ago

    How do you mispronounce "Thanos"?

  • Ty
    Ty Month ago

    That was also my opinion. It wasn't as bad as people said but, it was very boring. And you could REALLY tell what scenes were reshot.

    • Mind Job
      Mind Job Month ago

      I couldn’t tell and the movie did explore a theme. It was spelled out in the opening and closing narration that the movie is about Jean evolving beyond the fate she had in X3.

  • Ty
    Ty Month ago

    My biggest thing about these passed few X-Men movies is that none of the people aged over 30 years.

  • Michael Ingenito
    Michael Ingenito Month ago

    I'm going to have dreams about watching HDDVD Avatar with James now

  • Block Like
    Block Like Month ago

    First Class and Logan are great... everything else is trash imo

  • jynxycats
    jynxycats Month ago

    Ngl, they remembered way more about Xmen Apocalypse than I expect anyone to have. What a dumpster fire.

  • Emperor Andy
    Emperor Andy Month ago

    I’m just sad y’all are talking about this and not Godzilla! That movie kicked a**

  • ShelbyFromClimb
    ShelbyFromClimb Month ago

    I’m not sure they can bring X-Men into the MCU because of how instrumental the Holocaust and WWII is to Magneto’s origin. They can’t really bring him into the fold anymore and you can’t really do X-Men without him

  • A_ Lundgaard
    A_ Lundgaard Month ago

    As long as Sophie Turner retires from acting somethung good came out of this movie.

  • bobwallett
    bobwallett Month ago

    after 1st class they have all been awful. even Logan was bad

  • Panzer GS
    Panzer GS Month ago

    You guys ever thought about getting a table to sit around or something besides one person up front and everyone else kind of in a background?Is it some sort of inside joke I'm missing?

  • MrTeaSquiffy
    MrTeaSquiffy Month ago +1

    Beast should absolutely be all CGI. I'd like to see him more animalistic too. Big, hunched over and walking on all fours.

  • MrTeaSquiffy
    MrTeaSquiffy Month ago

    The next Wolverine should not be a super main character in the MCU. Jackman played him exceptionally. I definitely want to see him with the team, but not to focus too heavily on him. Perhaps the big thing about him is his relationship with Jubilee down the road.

  • Yo Dawgz Gaming
    Yo Dawgz Gaming 2 months ago

    Andy Serkis body + Kelsey Grammer voice would be an amazing Beast in the future!

  • Yo Dawgz Gaming
    Yo Dawgz Gaming 2 months ago

    It really is astonishing how badly the X-Men movies have been paced over the last 20 years. They just keep rushing and resetting.

  • Yo Dawgz Gaming
    Yo Dawgz Gaming 2 months ago

    Thank god Fox is done with it. God they sucked at X-Men movies overall.

  • M N
    M N 2 months ago

    Another little easter egg, was the renaming of the school to the jean grey school, wolverine does that in the comics when he starts his own school.

  • babit65
    babit65 2 months ago

    I wasn't even aware this movie existed. 🤣🤣🤣

    • Mind Job
      Mind Job Month ago

      Fox had serious marketing difficulties due to the merger layoffs.

  • chaotea
    chaotea 2 months ago

    I actually really enjouyed it. Not a highest teir film, but for a super hero film, really good.

  • Sammy
    Sammy 2 months ago

    I think the movie would have been a lot cooler if Jean was more of a villain? Instead of her being all “i lose control and bad stuff happen” and be more of a “i can do anything why shouldn’t i do this bad thing u cant stop me”

    • Mind Job
      Mind Job Month ago

      The statement the film was making was that Jean will not have the fate she had in X3.

  • Jack Eire
    Jack Eire 2 months ago

    The story behind that short film of Batman vs. Predator that James mentioned is actually super interesting.

  • Psionic B
    Psionic B 2 months ago +5

    "You can stay on your farm magnet man."

  • 343Films
    343Films 2 months ago

    James and the rest of the crew is giving Jennifer Lawrence wayyyy too much credit here. She's phoned it in in so many films at this point. And boo hoo, sorry you hooked up with a costar knowing you'd already signed on to a slew of upcoming movies with and now working with him is hard.

  • WinterSplinterM.II
    WinterSplinterM.II 2 months ago

    I honestly enjoy The Last Stand aswell. I mean it's garbage but it is an enjoyable popcorn movie

  • Shawn Van Scooter III
    Shawn Van Scooter III 2 months ago

    blue and orange movie poster? probably gonna be shit

  • ScramJamJohnson
    ScramJamJohnson 2 months ago +1

    Adam "Well I liked it" Kovic

  • dantelo88
    dantelo88 2 months ago

    dark phoenix comic/story arc=The Dark knight comic/story OVERRATED... They are better story to tell hence why BvS suck and also Dark phoenix sucks...

    • MrTeaSquiffy
      MrTeaSquiffy Month ago +2

      Dark Knight Returns.
      Just to clarify, before people think you mean the Christopher Nolan movie.

  • Judge Fudge
    Judge Fudge 2 months ago +3

    I think the dark Phoenix movie was missing a guy that can make his skin into needles. So if you accidentally hug him. He’ll poke you with them.

  • ZoZo Daemon
    ZoZo Daemon 2 months ago

    Lol I love when Adam tries to degrade a thing or person by not using their actual name, James always is like "Use their name" 57:16

  • Mark Jake
    Mark Jake 2 months ago

    I knew this movie was bad when my dad, brother and I walked out and didn't even discuss the movie and just talked about how stoked we were for the lion king.

  • The Smoking Man
    The Smoking Man 2 months ago

    The only way x-men would fly in my mind would they need to make single movies about each of the characters, and they can't cut the tough nature that is X-men(IE. They deal with Racism and other forms of social stigmatization) and it's honestly a very bloody comic with a good amount of death. Once they have good back stories for each of the characters then they could do a X-men combined movie because we have invested into the characters of the universe. The way Marvel did the Super hero half worked because of that. The General masses had no idea who Iron man was, or Thor, Guardians of the Galaxy and so on. It's the same for X-men. Not everyone is a comic fan so they have no idea about stories of the characters, and if they do get some kinda back story it's typically some sort of flash back with 10mins worth of info. Yes i'm bad at typing sentences and i don't care.

  • Roy Benson
    Roy Benson 2 months ago

    Marvel girl = Jean gray=phinix=dark phinix

  • Jack Woodgate
    Jack Woodgate 2 months ago

    As for "how do they integrate the X-men into the current MCU?" my answer is "Please, don't". My problem with it stems back to the comics- You have mutants, like the X-Men, who are "hated and feared" and super-heroes like Spider-man and Captain America who are generally loved by the population (yeah, there _are_ exceptions, such as General Ross, J J Jameson and the divide in public opinion during _Civil War_). _We_ as readers know the difference between mutants and superheroes, _we_ know that Cyclops was born that way and Peter Parker was bitten by a radio-active spider, but, in universe, the man in the street is just going to see a guy in spandex doing impossible things.

  • Jack Woodgate
    Jack Woodgate 2 months ago

    I'm pretty sure Cyclops' visor allows him to focus his optic blasts. Without it, the blast would be like a fire hose opened all the way (as per the scene in the first film where Toad snatches it away and Scott blasts the roof off the train station). The visor allows him to adjust the power of the blast, so he could just knock a guy over, rather than blast a whole through their chest, and the width of the blast.

  • Lollie
    Lollie 2 months ago

    Just read fucking comic book then adam

  •  2 months ago

    This is the best crew

  • Hypercombo
    Hypercombo 2 months ago

    Obviously James forgot who tf Bishop was.

  • Darbo Boyle
    Darbo Boyle 2 months ago

    I now am going to watch this movie! On a hacked firestick, im not that fucking stupid

  • TARS
    TARS 2 months ago

    I think X-Men: Days of Future Past is the ONLY good X-Men movie.

  • Trevor Slivkov
    Trevor Slivkov 2 months ago

    The fact that there is a Marvel banner in this movie, discredits Marvel

  • Dusty Fox
    Dusty Fox 2 months ago

    Eh, Selene wasn't so much of a deep cut if you're use to X-men stuff. She's normally a member of the Hellfire club and has shown up in nearly every animated series if I remember correctly. The problem was that the film just never developed the Hellfire club to make her appearance a payoff.

  • W Radford
    W Radford 2 months ago

    I think people didn’t want to like this movie because Apocalypse was so bad. I just watched it and was genuinely interested from the first scene. I wouldn’t say it was the best movie but far from the worst, especially how they packed the Phoenix saga into 2 hours and made it manageable. I’m willing to say I left this feeling more happy with losing hours of my life than with Endgame. Endgame was the opposite- people wanted to like it since Infinity War was so great and won’t admit to themselves it really wasn’t very good. I mean, face it- Avengers only really did well because people liked watching either Stark walk around with playboy/charisma confidence and women wanted to f@ck Thor. Literally every other character was a glorified walking Easter egg until they got back to those two. Don’t even get me started on the complete waste of time/potential Age of Ultron was...

  • ragemonkey117
    ragemonkey117 2 months ago

    Of course James backed HDDVD.

  • doodlemoe
    doodlemoe 2 months ago +18

    "He wasn't Australian as an alien, he was more human". - Adam Kovic 2019

  • Jagd Töpfer
    Jagd Töpfer 2 months ago +5

    The X Men cinematic franchise ends with Logan, in my opinion. That final shot cannot be topped.

  • Kaleb Rhodes
    Kaleb Rhodes 2 months ago

    Now here’s an idea I thought of before seeing the movie and now realize it would’ve been better, have Jessica chastains character be the Phoenix force just manifesting itself to Jean grey so only Jean grey can see her I like that more than boring ass aliens

  • Kaleb Rhodes
    Kaleb Rhodes 2 months ago

    James is spot on boring equals trash but bad can actually be good

    • Mind Job
      Mind Job Month ago

      Not really. I found Hellboy boring when I first saw it but enjoyed it on the second viewing. Opinions like “boring” can be subjected to change.

  • gotmoney123fly
    gotmoney123fly 2 months ago +1

    My names crub and I’m from the globglab

  • MythicScifi
    MythicScifi 2 months ago

    Ya'll doing one of these for Godzilla?

  • Cjspyker
    Cjspyker 2 months ago

    Beast look great in movie having random qalms

  • gamra2008
    gamra2008 2 months ago

    James vs Thanos

  • Victor Olesso
    Victor Olesso 2 months ago

    Imagine how much more interesting the movie would be if they had made it into a genuine slowburn thriller. I'm not saying it should go full Watchmen or Brightburn but the premise of a young girl being slowly overtaken by one of the most powerful and evil cosmic forces and is gradually made darker and darker until she goes full on Carrie in the final act would've been a far better way to do it in my opinion. So many interesting takes they could have gone with but noooo.. what a terrible waste of a great character.

    • Victor Olesso
      Victor Olesso Month ago

      @Mind Job Which is retarded, because we've known Jean Stark for about 3-4 hours in total with this movie and Apocalypse. This should have been built up more, MUCH more. This was a bad movie and a ridiculous way to end the foX-men run.

    • Mind Job
      Mind Job Month ago

      The point of the film was that Jean isn’t going to go Dark Phoenix again because she evolved beyond that fate.

  • darktennisball
    darktennisball 2 months ago +2

    “Ok we didn’t even ask you” who was that? 14:10

  • Mcdougal
    Mcdougal 2 months ago +2

    pretty sure its quartz in cyclops's glasses that stops the light, and not 'the color red.' and its just rose quartz for the sake of character design

  • MrWinterGuard
    MrWinterGuard 2 months ago

    All the X men films are bad ... We give them a pass because we want to like them

  • Norwall
    Norwall 2 months ago

    Big props on this video. Super good job.

  • KakashiSenpai
    KakashiSenpai 2 months ago

    I hope they don't just hate on the director and the movie without bringing up the whole talk about how it was 2 whole movies and what the overral outline was and what happened towards the end of production. Alot of interesting stuff behind the scenes but I only see everyone shitting on the director online. I'm looking forward to this podcast. I'm halfway in though and they haven't brought up any behind the scenes stuff.

  • Mathieu Leader
    Mathieu Leader 2 months ago

    did not follow the sauce enough

  • IBadGrammar
    IBadGrammar 2 months ago

    i watch today is i enjoy movie

  • Sir_Dango
    Sir_Dango 2 months ago

    Oh man. That edit of Elyse's face on Jean Grey's face during the last ad read is...frightening. I wasn't expecting it and I almost dropped my drink!

  • ltlocus
    ltlocus 2 months ago

    I think sophie turner is a terrible actress. I cringe whenever she acts.

  • Jayce Ervin
    Jayce Ervin 2 months ago +1

    Jennifer Lawrence's power is "feminism"..

  • Jack Fagan
    Jack Fagan 2 months ago

    I think the only portions of the first three X Men movies were going to Circuit City and Best Buy and watching them on a TV showcasing HDDVD.