OnePlus 7 Pro Review - The Fastest Android I've Used!

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 14, 2019
  • Get yourself a dbrand skin at dbrand.com/LinusDropTips
    Buy the Corsair Ironclaw RGB Mouse at Amazon: geni.us/TRBjCEp or NewEgg: geni.us/ihXWnoG
    The OnePlus 7 Pro is one of my favorite Android flagships of the year, with the notch-less screen, pop-up selfie camera, and SUPER fast in-screen fingerprint reader!
    Buy a OnePlus Smartphone
    On Amazon: geni.us/zl5So
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1063802-the-fastest-android-ive-used-oneplus-7-pro-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: thexvid.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High thexvid.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 5 182

  • Soham Naha
    Soham Naha 3 days ago +5

    How to talk about phones?
    Linus: Start with dissing apple..

  • Red Hood
    Red Hood 4 days ago

    Samsung phones still slow af

  • ken lin
    ken lin 5 days ago

    Go buy wirless charge adapter put it on with case and there we go hahah if u kids really crying over this reason

    • Red Hood
      Red Hood 4 days ago

      ken lin its more than $700. Even my old Galaxy S6 have it

  • Amir Reza
    Amir Reza 5 days ago

    movie at 3:38?

  • Dmitriy Chaikovskiy
    Dmitriy Chaikovskiy 6 days ago

    Ohhhh come on Linus, 1+7 pro camera sucks

  • Nikki Luca
    Nikki Luca 7 days ago

    iirc, the 7 pro is basically waterproof, Dave2D has a good video on it, they just didn’t want to pay for the IP rating and did all testing in house

    • Red Hood
      Red Hood 4 days ago

      Nikki Luca and guess what? When your phone gets water damaged, Oneplus won’t fix it for free.

  • Chelsea Supporter Channel C.S.C. TV

    Just bought this phone, and it is incredibly awesome! Signed former Samsung user. Still love you Sammy

  • Craziestbanana
    Craziestbanana 7 days ago

    just bought the oneplus 7 for £350, because its £10 more than a k20 pro and has double the storage and a ois on the rear camera; 8gb of ram, 256gb of storage for £350, they are still the budget kings in non pro regions.

  • Peter Harry
    Peter Harry 7 days ago

    I have a phone called infinix zero 2, it's so trash

  • Souriddha chakraborty
    Souriddha chakraborty 8 days ago +7

    Some points you missed linus, first of all, for the "48 MP" photos, you need to go to pro mode and enable it.
    Second of all, the 6T will still hold better battery life because it's a lower res 60 Hz. The 90 Hz combined with 1440p, reduces battery life, however you can reduce the refresh rate, but again, it defeats the point of having it.

    And third, well it's obvious that one plus will beat any, ANY phone in app loading or booting time, thanks to the UFS 3.0.
    My brother has the XS Max and I have the 7 pro, let me tell you, in terms of Camera, screen and "speed" Apple is inferior. No, I'm not being biased. But then apple's build quality is top notch. But personally, I'd rather save those extra bucks and still have more phone In my hand.

  • Jorge Gayer
    Jorge Gayer 9 days ago +1

    Why you mentioned you got all your notifications? I'm having problems with my S10 notifications and wondering If anyone Else gets the same problem. Do you have any video mentioning this?

  • Wonder Lamb
    Wonder Lamb 9 days ago +1

    I swear OnePlus and Xiaomi are the only good phone companies

  • Super Slovak
    Super Slovak 10 days ago

    Why is it such a bad thing to watch movies on a phone

  • NChync
    NChync 10 days ago +1

    Nah... Might as well have no animations system wide, no icons just words, or just go back to command lines

  • mark bulauan
    mark bulauan 11 days ago

    Llppp lol p
    P
    Ppppp my plp lolp

  • Thiyagu Tenysen
    Thiyagu Tenysen 11 days ago

    I don't know why you gave a worst review about s10

  • Thiyagu Tenysen
    Thiyagu Tenysen 11 days ago

    S10+ is surely better than 7 pro

  • Omer mirza
    Omer mirza 11 days ago

    7:16 camera

  • Cody O'Brien
    Cody O'Brien 11 days ago +1

    Mine shows up on Friday and I can't f**king wait. I'm rocking a LG G5 so this is gonna me a huge upgrade.

    • Daniel Picazo
      Daniel Picazo 11 days ago

      Using it right now. Best phone out there, it's just fantastic

  • Kae
    Kae 11 days ago +4

    oh well guess you never looked at the Sony Xperia 1...

  • SoggZ
    SoggZ 11 days ago +1

    To large?
    6,67 is it the modern cod piece to impress the ladies?

  • Baqer Alasadi
    Baqer Alasadi 11 days ago +1

    I did everything he did to his s10 on mine and mine is a ton faster than his

  • Arnav Sharma
    Arnav Sharma 12 days ago

    Well you haven't used the razor.phone 2

  • 2vaped4u
    2vaped4u 13 days ago

    12GB Vs 8GB Red Magic

  • Jeton Cesaj
    Jeton Cesaj 13 days ago +1

    Wait,Wait,WAIT A MIN.FASTEST ANDROID PHONE IS THE REDMI K20 PRO,which has 388,803 antutu points.
    www.kimovil.com/en/redmi-855/antutu

  • Code: Nologyy SONST GIBTS EINE AUFS MAUL

    Infinity war
    ON A PHONE
    Linus i thought that you arent better than this

  • Hermes V
    Hermes V 14 days ago +1

    Watching this on a 7 pro 😉

  • Marcel Bruinsma
    Marcel Bruinsma 15 days ago

    6GB+128GB $669 and 8GB+258GB.
    Apple eat your heart out!
    As an Apple boy I'm quite tempted.

  • Alex M.
    Alex M. 15 days ago

    "F**k motorised parts. Long live the headphone jack."

  • Subscribe & Like
    Subscribe & Like 15 days ago

    Just try redmi k20 pro ... Dude

  • Goose bot
    Goose bot 15 days ago

    Easily my favorite and possibly best phone of the year, to address some of the complaints, my earbuds are already wireless, I don't care for the independent rating, and yea, it is pretty pricey

  • Ice Master
    Ice Master 16 days ago

    Hello there,

    I've been using my S7 for almost 2 years now and was thinking of an upgrade.
    But, I can't really make up my mind, if I should go with the Oneplus 7(Regular not Pro) or Galaxy S10.

    What would you recommend?

    • HBBKS
      HBBKS 15 days ago

      Dude, for 400$, you can get a Xiaomi Mi 9 that is faster than any of the samsung phones. It has SD 855, 6/8/12GB of RAM and 6'39 display. Go for it. Also the Triple Camera, and 48MP one.

    • Ice Master
      Ice Master 15 days ago

      @Wasir Hello,
      Thanks for the reply. I was considering getting a lower priced device that also happens to have great specs.
      I also factor in that the last 4 smartphones that I owned were all Samsung phones.

      I was thinking about a change of brands and Oneplus seems appealing.

    • Wasir
      Wasir 16 days ago +2

      Ice Master
      If money isn’t a problem, of course, go for the S10.
      The headphone jack, ip rating, wireless charging, memory card expandability will only become more useful as time goes on.
      You will get good value for your money.

  • Byron
    Byron 16 days ago

    Is this your new daily?

  • Scheurer
    Scheurer 16 days ago

    No it is not all about the software. I work as a industrial mechanic in a foundry. How it is built is important to me so it wont die on the first day of work. Everything this phone has in terms of build quality makes me wanna die. A freaking pop up camera. The more complicated you make something the easier it is gonna break. I will probably have to settle for a CAT simply because they at least look like they are built to last.

  • GungHo
    GungHo 16 days ago +5

    If only it had a headphone jack

  • Sander Alphen
    Sander Alphen 16 days ago

    Clear up your notifications. Omg so many.

  • vivi xD
    vivi xD 17 days ago

    You know what's faster than op7 pro.

    It's cheaper sibling op7

    • Duckernator
      Duckernator 16 days ago +1

      sounds like someone trying to make themselves feel better for not getting the op7 pro

  • tankdog03
    tankdog03 17 days ago

    Note 9 is still the perfect all in one has everything phone.. and all features

    • Food Republic
      Food Republic 16 days ago

      Except the ugly back camera layout and fingerprint

  • tankdog03
    tankdog03 17 days ago +3

    I find wireless charging is only useful in my car using a wireless charging car mount, any other time I just plug it in, usually at night I'm watching videos plugged in..

  • Jaime Ornelas Arciga
    Jaime Ornelas Arciga 18 days ago

    I have this phone Its A Great phone

  • Costa Gravaris
    Costa Gravaris 19 days ago +117

    Wireless charging is so overrated, not worried about that at all.

    • Red Hood
      Red Hood 4 days ago +1

      Costa Gravaris wireless charging coil is really cheap. Oneplus is just lazy.

    • Engie Guy
      Engie Guy 5 days ago

      wireless charging is okay, but i would way rather have the warp charge feature
      put it on charge while you get ready in the morning or something and itll be ready for the whole day!

    • Martin Kiel
      Martin Kiel 6 days ago

      @Comkio Because in the last 4 years you'll have plugged your phone over 1400 times and I only had to plug the pads once?
      Anywhere I work in my home, I set my phone down and it's topping up, and whenever I leave the house, it's around 80% at any given time

    • Comkio
      Comkio 6 days ago

      @Martin Kiel Let me just put my phone on a pad that's already wired. That's semi-wireless charging. Why not take the cable that the pad was plugged in with and just charge your phone with it lmao

    • Comkio
      Comkio 6 days ago

      @Martin Kiel Yeah man I have a galaxy s9 and it has wireless charging but i wont buy a charging pad any time soon. It's such a stupid concept

  • azrul nizam
    azrul nizam 19 days ago

    Believe me one day Oneplus is going to be a status symbol.

  • Alex Mobii
    Alex Mobii 19 days ago

    I still think the best task switching is in MIUI 10. Its really does take advantage of bigger screens these days.

  • Darius Moglia
    Darius Moglia 19 days ago

    Well... Another 2 sponso video...

  • Grey Goose
    Grey Goose 20 days ago

    No wireless charging is an instant deal breaker for me for the price. I guess I'll wait and see what the one plus 8 offers

    • Mushroomstamp
      Mushroomstamp 19 days ago

      Grey Goose rofl wireless charging ? Stop it I’ve never found a need to leave my phone charging for 4 hours ... plug it in .

  • EL Cabrón
    EL Cabrón 20 days ago

    Ordered my case with skin from dbrand on the day of this video release and now it's going to ship to me at the end of this month of July.
    Never ordering form them again

  • darkultra
    darkultra 21 day ago

    Ooohhh 90hz smooth! Too bad it doesn't divide eith 24 or 60, that mrans stuttering. Waiting for a 120hz phone. Even smoother and divides cleanly with 24, 30 and 60fps.

    • Mushroomstamp
      Mushroomstamp 19 days ago

      darkultra stuttering ? Try again like really actually use the dang thing I don’t even have a 7 Pro i have an Xs max and I can see from a mile away your comment is bullshit based on what ? Random math 🤔

  • tntboom77
    tntboom77 21 day ago

    It has always on screen !!!

  • Jimmy Gangster
    Jimmy Gangster 21 day ago

    I honestly didn't find the price to be that bad, even for the top model. I mean this thing is damn near borderline even with the S10+ in every aspect and costs $400 less. I do have to admit that the glare on the edges looks like it could be annoying, but I also know that I rarely, if ever, use my phone with a light directly over me like youtubers do while making videos and the only light that would really be directly over me during use would be the sun if I'm outside and even then I'm not trying to watch a movie or videos in general at that time. I am a little nervous about the front camera because of the whole mechanical aspect of it and it being an opening in the phone for dust to build up. I do hate the headphone jack not being there but when shopping for a phone I took a good long thought into consideration and realized that I RARELY even use my headphones with my phone, 90% of the time I have it connected to my car or a wireless speaker via bluetooth and the only time I use the headphone jack is when I mow the lawn while listening to spotify, and that's only a couple of hours at a time. I also have an mp3 player I use at work that I can just listen to instead, no big deal for me. Wireless charging I honestly couldn't care less about, I understand the convenience but it's something I don't mind not having, I can manage to plug my phone in, I'm not that lazy. Water resistance I have lived without and have done just fine, I just use common sense and don't use my phone where there's a chance of it getting dropped in water, I'm in the pool with it, I'm not in the shower with it, I'm not laying my phone right beside a sink that's full of water, I'm conscious about that and put my phone out of harms way.

  • kiran bondre
    kiran bondre 21 day ago +10

    While apple just introducing dark mode

  • Emmanuel Diseko
    Emmanuel Diseko 22 days ago

    Aren't you by any chance selling that phone?

  • TheKeyMast3r
    TheKeyMast3r 22 days ago

    I have this phone :)

  • JDM CJM
    JDM CJM 22 days ago

    I'm taking my one plus 7 pro back today. The camera is dreadful. The "3x optical zoom" lens is just a blurry mess. I wish I didn't sell my mate 20 pro. The camera was so much better,. I may just get a samsung.

  • Chris Schuler
    Chris Schuler 23 days ago +3

    I charge my p10 to 80 percent, get home with 40 percent, on a really inefficient 16nm SoC

  • Ali MirXa
    Ali MirXa 24 days ago

    hands Down nearly most complete phone on the planat .... also the most powerful :)
    Love for one plus 7 pro 90hz panal is like making its complete beast

  • Suoraruisku
    Suoraruisku 24 days ago

    someone still uses hair gel these days, looks awful btw

  • Kirby7601
    Kirby7601 24 days ago

    my recommendation: DO NOT BUY THE ONEPLUS 7 PRO FROM T-MOBILE

  • Sebastian Zellah
    Sebastian Zellah 25 days ago +1

    11:10 Well maybe I should buy this particular phone.... wait, no headphone jack!?

  • databang
    databang 25 days ago +2

    Is this a commercial? I never seen a dude give a sloppy BJ to phone-ach, I'll never look at you the same.

  • simon sosuk
    simon sosuk 25 days ago +1

    show pubgm performance

  • I Gloomy
    I Gloomy 26 days ago

    What about the UFS 3.0 storage?

  • REBUG
    REBUG 26 days ago

    Can't stand this fucker!

  • Zesty Lemon Zak
    Zesty Lemon Zak 27 days ago

    No headphone jack no sale no matter how good the phone is.

  • Vlad Rares
    Vlad Rares 27 days ago

    Overal speed - huawei developer options - lower down to 0 any animation scale and you'll have it as fast as oneplus pro.
    Camera? cant compare it to Pixel 3 or P30 pro.
    Screen? still not as good as Samsung S10+, so lets just stop with this crap.
    No notch? guess what? that hole-punch from S10+ is just something you get used too very fast. I know you like complaining a lot about it, but its mostly nonsense what you're saying.
    Fingerprint reader - seriously?? ok, its fast, but you make it look like is something revolutionary. WRONG.

  • Yaboi Drunkie
    Yaboi Drunkie 27 days ago

    Wait till insta thots get there hands on it and the camera breaks in a weak because how much it is used

  • Ahnaf Kabir
    Ahnaf Kabir 28 days ago

    W.w.w.w.w.w.w.ait.....
    My car has Android Auto,and I got at 140mph.Isnt that fast????????

  • Lyusien Vladimirov
    Lyusien Vladimirov 28 days ago +1

    Dude, stop with the removable batteries.. get over it!

  • BlackPhoenix
    BlackPhoenix 29 days ago

    When the Sceen showed 15:15 PM, it was exactly 15:15 PM at my Place... spooky

  • Benedicto Lualhati
    Benedicto Lualhati 29 days ago

    Oneplus are 37-45k in my country 721-876 usd

  • MoonShadow
    MoonShadow 29 days ago

    YEP It's the best Android Phone, I got it

  • Ode Valkamo
    Ode Valkamo 29 days ago

    1:20 that is not wireless charging. Why do people call it wireless and cry or complain when their phones don't have that useless feature. You literally have to use a wire for that device to charge your phone so it is useless and not wireless

  • Shane S.
    Shane S. Month ago

    Oh god, I noticed theres full screen album art I thought "stock" Android got rid of that owo

  • newnowapv
    newnowapv Month ago +1

    So you say, Op7 Pro over Galaxy s10+?

    • Jason Piper
      Jason Piper 26 days ago +1

      Just went from the note 9 to to the Op7. Yes so much yes

  • Hammerhead Monkey
    Hammerhead Monkey Month ago +1

    Who else knew the word "eschew"?🤔

  • Zalan Khan
    Zalan Khan Month ago

    The S10 plus snapdragon are the faster models
    You should have gone for that

    • Zalan Khan
      Zalan Khan Month ago

      @Cyborg Nightmare no in this video he is the Exynos variant

    • Cyborg Nightmare
      Cyborg Nightmare Month ago

      S10 Plus and Oneplus 7 Pro have the same snapdragon 855 cpu... what are you talking about?

  • Nappy Boy
    Nappy Boy Month ago

    did he just list removable batteries as a con? We haven't had removable batteries in midrange or flagship phones for years now. Next he's gonna complain about lack of FM Radios

  • Elmo
    Elmo Month ago +1

    1:44 "removable batteries" so which flagship has this option? :DD

  • Егор Платонов

    If animation speed bothers you so much, you can adjust it or even turn it off completely in Android's development mode.

  • Violeta The Great
    Violeta The Great Month ago +2

    You just convinced me to get the one plus seven pro.

  • Azhuma Hatori
    Azhuma Hatori Month ago +9

    Me and the bois :
    Redmi k20 pro, mi 9t, pocophone f2 :
    "hold ma beer"

  • geb0f0rever
    geb0f0rever Month ago

    Dude you finger nails are nasty!

  • Shiva Oraon
    Shiva Oraon Month ago

    Plz give the link of op7pro case plz plz

  • William Butcher
    William Butcher Month ago +1

    Who's watching this on the OnePlus 7 pro...

  • Dhruv Das
    Dhruv Das Month ago

    Hey asshole the display is borrowed from Samsung..

  • Noa Animations
    Noa Animations Month ago +1

    It doesn't have a headphone jack ?? é_é

  • John Himmington
    John Himmington Month ago

    the shade at apple at the beginning omg

  • Doctor Brain
    Doctor Brain Month ago

    Lol. Redmi K20 pro beat the oneplus 7 pro in Antutu. Go check it out for yourself

  • Dmytro D
    Dmytro D Month ago

    Great but too big. Where are small phones like iPhone XS/Google Pixel 3, One plus?

  • imcanada
    imcanada Month ago

    1:18 wireless charging is so dumb. it wastes a fuck ton of electricity and there is no point in it. the cable is already there, plugged into the wireless charging pad, just plug the fucking thing in.

  • dan k
    dan k Month ago +1

    you're actually unlocking the Samsung wrong you held your thumb on it when you faster you tap it the faster it unlocks literally just need to tap the s10 with your thumb and it opens fast af

  • Iam Harsh
    Iam Harsh Month ago +1

    Some of us still watching movies in phone
    Me:watch all movies in my phone

  • Rishikesh Ingle
    Rishikesh Ingle Month ago

    No display can beat the xperia 1

  • Antti Taipale
    Antti Taipale Month ago +4

    5:04 7 pro has 8/12gb ram

  • Zoe Cui
    Zoe Cui Month ago

    My current phone OnePlus 6 is working so well it's not giving me any excuse to upgrade.

    • Boogey Ratt
      Boogey Ratt Month ago

      I hated the hell out of my 6. Upgraded to the 7 and I'm happy. Mostly.

  • Antti Heinonen
    Antti Heinonen Month ago +2

    i have 256gb memory on my pro7 where the hell you need memory card slot? sure if i take photos etc that much i wouldnt keep em all on phone anyway. bought 12g ram version witch is most likely useless overkill but for future couple years maybe not

  • Roberto Tomás
    Roberto Tomás Month ago

    The one thing I disagree with is that you trivialized water resistance. I can understand that, but to me that just means you need to get out more

  • Kevin Lin
    Kevin Lin Month ago

    love the hair

  • Tanim Xubayer
    Tanim Xubayer Month ago +2

    Just loved it. Dangerously snappy 😁😁

  • Weehoo 2
    Weehoo 2 Month ago

    Bro I’ve used one, it’s so fast it almost feels like an iPhone

    • Artie
      Artie Month ago

      Hahah good joke

  • Nag Shankar
    Nag Shankar Month ago

    Hello Linus,
    Please review the retail units, not the review units. OP 7 Pro has got lots of issues, phantom touch, low picture quality, fingerprint reader burning screen and many more. We, users, watch your videos and get inspired to buy and later end up disappointed with the issues with no guarantee it'll be fixed. We do not want a phone having issues initially and hoping it'll be fixed later. Please request for retail units rather than review units so we get to know any issues. This is totally unfair, camera samples nowhere matches to what reviewers say on TheXvid. Not fair by OnePlus sending different unit for reviewers and users. This makes lose trust on reviewers as well.